Skip to content

Yearly Month Long Blogging Sabbatical and a New Christian Book Community

January 24, 2013

Well I didn’t really go into December saying to myself, “I should take the last half of December and most of January off from blogging,” but that’s what I did. I kept thinking about posting, but I felt like I needed to just take a break so that posting wouldn’t become another “have to” in my life.

I post about children’s books because I am always on the look out for good books for my kids, my friends’ kids, nieces and nephews, etc.  It’s not something I do for money (annual gross income; zero!) or out of obligation. I started this blog simply because I couldn’t find many resources for books reviewed via a Christian world view.  I haven’t exactly added a tome of information to the topic, but I have slowly plodded along adding reviews I thought would be helpful. The result of my sabbatical is that I am ready to go back into blogging with renewed energy. I think I’ll make this a yearly practice.

In the last few years I’ve noticed a significant increase in Christian book blogs, review sites, and small publishing houses specializing in Christian authors. I found out about one today that I would like to share: Novel Crossing: The Intersection of Faith and Fiction.

I’m not a regular reader of Women’s Christian Fiction or even Christian Novels- I’m more the nonfiction type, but there is a nice list of Young Adult books on the site that might help me in my book searches for teens. I’m also impressed with the functionality of the site and its community interaction.

It’s free to join and you can post your favorite reads, want-to-reads, and read other members’ reviews to help you choose books. Check it out.

Leave a Reply

